Wellness Coalition logo
graduation cap and books

Academic Affairs Partnership Committee

puzzle pieces

Behavioral Health and JED Campus Committee

hands and puzzles pieces

Student Engagement Committee

Who We Are

Created in 2018, UConn’s Wellness Coalition is an interdisciplinary, university-wide network of students, staff, and faculty charged with creating a thriving, connected academic community that supports the full potential of every student. Currently more than 80 students, staff, and faculty representing 10 schools and colleges, and 22 departments, including UConn Health and the regional campuses, serve on the Wellness Coalition. The Wellness Coalition is composed of three committees with corresponding subcommittees: the Academic Affairs Partnership Committee, the Behavioral Health and JED Campus Committee, and the Student Engagement Committee. The Wellness Coalition is guided by an Advisory Council, whose membership includes student, staff, academic, and faculty leaders who recently served on the President’s Task Force for Student Mental Health and Wellbeing, as well as the Chairs of the three Wellness Coalition committees.

Our Vision

UConn is a thriving, connected campus community that supports the full potential of every student.

Our Mission

The Wellness Coalition implements interconnected strategies, creating a culture of care and responsibility to support life-long learning and the wellbeing of all UConn Huskies.

Our Goals

  1. Acknowledging that all students, faculty, staff, parents, alumni, and local community members have a shared responsibility for the wellbeing of the UConn community.
  2. Encouraging every student across all UConn campuses to make informed decisions in support academic and personal goals.
  3. Recognizing different impact across identities in the UConn community and integrating social justice principles into our work.
  4. Empowering the community to value, cherish, and celebrate one another in a healthy and sustainable way that supports a culture of wellness.
Advisory Council Members

Chair: Karen McComb, M.S. 

Student Health and Wellness Assistant Director,
Director of Health Promotion and Community Impact
Department: Student Health and Wellness

Sandra Chafouleas, Ph.D.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Department of Educational Psychology,
Neag Endowed Professor, Department of Educational Psychology,
Co-Director, UConn Collaboratory on School and Child Health (CSCH)
Department: Neag School of Education

Alexis Charles

UConn Student

Jill Fitzgerald, Pharm.D.

Associate Clinical Professor,
Director of Experiential Learning and Continuing Professional Development
Department: School of Pharmacy

Noah Frank

UConn Student 

Vicki Fry, MSHRM 

HR Manager,
Employee Engagement and Wellness
Department: Human Resources

Abhishek Gupta

Medical Student at UConn Health

Nina Rovinelli Heller, Ph.D. 

Dean, Zachs Chair in Social Work and Co-Director, PhD Program
Department: School of Social Work

Kent Holsinger, Ph.D. 

Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School
Department: The Graduate School

Jayesh Kamath, M.D., Ph.D. 

Professor of Psychiatry & Immunology
Department: UConn Health

Kazem Kazerounian, M.S., Ph.D. 

Professor and Dean of the School of Engineering
Department: School of Engineering

Paula J Kalksma McDowell, M.S.

Health Promotion Project Coordinator
Department: Student Health and Wellness

Jon Moore, M.B.A. 

Instructor in-Residence, OPIM,
MIS Academic Director,
OPIM Innovate Coordinator
Department: School of Business


Kelsey O’Neil, M.S. 

Director of the Rainbow Center 
Department: Rainbow Center 

Suzanne Onorato, M.S., Ph.D. 

Executive Director of Student Health and Wellness
Department: Student Health and Wellness

David Ouimette

Executive Director of First Year Programs
Department: Academic Achievement Center

Emily Pagano, M.S. 

Health Promotion Manager
Department: Student Health and Wellness

Angela Rola 

Director of the Asian American Cultural Center,
University Senate
Department: Higher Education & Student Affairs

Leslie Shor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education
Department: School of Engineering

Deepa Shukla 

Graduate Instructional Specialist
Department: Department of Physics

Kristina Stevens, LCSW, MSW 

Director of Mental Health
Department: Student Health and Wellness

Be Well Feel Well Do Well tagline logo